Nevada  |  Family Law

question bubble
4/12/05, 5:55 pm

Legal Question


Separation of marital property

I have been married for 10 year. When we married, my wife had about $450 K which she put into our first home and a remodel that I designed and on which I acted as the general contractor for the construction. Since that time we have sold that property and built a new home, putting her original cash and profits from the sale of the old home into the new home. We are selling the new home and should net out with about $1.3 million. We are looking at possible divorce and need to know haow this would be divided. I believe that she should pull out her original money and then the remainder is divided 50-50. She thinks she gets her original investment, appreciation on that money, and then divide the remaining money. There was no prenuptual agreement in place and we have split the costs jointly for the expences and mortgage. We both have our own carreers and make similar money. Am I correct in assuming that she is entitled to her original investment? Am I also correct in assuming that all of the assets accumulated during the marriage are divide equally?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search