Nevada | Family Law
7/30/07, 11:31 pm
Legal Question
Service
What is the best way to serve a divorce proceeding if you dont know where your spouse is, and havent seen them for years.
Service
What is the best way to serve a divorce proceeding if you dont know where your spouse is, and havent seen them for years.
|
Read More Answered By: Joseph Scalia |
Re: Service Short Answer- Publication Divorce
You must send a copy of he complaint to the last know address. If it's a local address you must attempt service. You can then get a court order allowing you to place an ad (publish) the summons. Afdter a 5 week run you count 20 days take a default and presto- your divorced,
My office does these for $1500 (3 payments of $500) + fees ($187 to file $100 for the ad + any service or due diligence fees) It takes 13 to 16 weeks to complete the whole process. |
|
Read More Answered By: Anita Webster |
Re: Service If we cannot locate the spouse we are trying to serve we have our process server make an effort to locate the individual. If he cannot locate the individual, he prepares an Affidavit of Due Diligence. We then submit that Affidavit with a Motion to the Court requesting that we be allowed to publish the summons. If the court approves this request then we publish for 4 weeks. At the end of 4 weeks, the other party is deemed served. At that point, you have to wait 20 days (the statutory time period for an individual to answer once they have been served). At the end of the 20 days you can file a default. The matter is then ready to proceed to the final decree and either submission or a prove up. If you have any questions about this process you should contact an attorney. |
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 758
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-04
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 254
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 174
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Las Vegas,, NV
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-11-06
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
► Child abuse My two babies ages two and three were removed from my home for being...
► Grandmother has guardianship & won't give it up My friends mother took...
► Question about family law I am military and due to family situations I was not able...
► Family Law Can I appeal a child support and child custody decision?
► Full child custody i am a mother who has a 22 month old daughter.i had to move to...
► Not attending to court I have a hearing set to check status on child support,child...
► Child Custody I am a mother of 4 children 3 years ago Iwas living in TX. The TX dept...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Nevada| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press