Nevada  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/06/09, 12:36 am

Legal Question


My wife and i are wanting for me to adopt her son, he is only 4 months old and his biological father has not seen him, payed any child support of made any effort to see the child, and has been given plenty of chances. What do i have to do in the state of nevada to adopt him?


question bubble
11/11/09, 7:45 pm

Legal Answer


Probably you have a very good chance. You would have to have the biological father sign a consent for adoption or you will have to file a lawsuit to terminate his parental rights. As to the adoption, it is much easier because it is a step parent adoption, which means that you do not have to have a state investigation.

What is required is a petition for adoption, some other forms, a court appearance and that is about it. If you have any questions or would like a consultation, you may email it jeffrey@jeffreycogan.com

Jeffrey Cogan

Jeffrey A. Cogan, Esq., Ltd. 6900 Westcliff Drive, Suite 511 Las Vegas, NV 89145

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search