Nevada  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
12/02/10, 10:47 pm

Legal Question


I am a California resident with a rental property in Las Vegas. After a housekeeping company performed an unacceptable job and the owner failed to respond to my complaints, I cancelled the payment. She refused to negotiate and sent me a series of inappropriate emails. She sued me in small claims, but the judge recused herself from the case stating that the plaintiff's company had cleaned her home. Now I would have to pay to fly out again to fight this case. I have a few questions:

1. If she gets a judgement against me (because I don't show up) is it possible for her to enforce the judgement since I am a CA resident?

2. I have discovered that she did not have a business license in LV at the time the work was done. Can I file for a dismissal based on this fact?

3. She sued me under her name, not the cleaning company name. Is this grounds for dismissal?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search