Nevada | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Landlord not paying mortgage.
I am renting a house in Nevada. My landlord has been collecting $1500 a months from me for almost 2 years. I had a 1 year lease but now am on a month to month with either party able to terminate with a 30 day notice. A company that handles forclosures recently sent 2 letters to my address, addressed to my landlord. I went to the county website and discovered that the mortgage is in default, but not in a forclosure yet. If the property is forclosed, what are my rights as a tennant. Also, am I within my rights to withhold my last months rent (I am sure my landlord, being in financial trouble, will not return my deposit) and tell my landlord to use the security deposit as my last months rent?


