Nevada  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
2/28/09, 3:53 am

Legal Question


Utilities: Dispute over lease verbiage

Six months after signing a lease for a rental home, the owners changed property mgmt companies. The lease says Owner is responsible for water, trash, sewer, & assoc fees. BUT it also states that they will ''bill tenant for connection fees and use accordingly''. Four months into the lease, I was told that the lease was wrong and to put the water in my name. I’ve done this but now the new property mgrs are saying I also owe the amount that's been paid by the owner (for water) since moving in. I haven't rec'd any lease revision/addendum nor has the owner presented me with any of the water bills in question. I can see where they are manipulating the lease verbiage to their advantage, but I feel like they haven't complied with Nevada laws regarding changes to the lease. So I feel like I am not responsible for anything prior to when I was 'told' of the lease error. Where do I stand on this? Do I have any recourse?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search