Nevada  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/28/07, 11:45 am

Legal Question


Personal Injury-underinsured responsible party

I was in a serious accident caused by a DUI driver. The driver happened to be a friend at the time. He asked me not to sue as he said he would help with the medical bills since he was underinsured. He has since decided he does not want to help as he has to pay for a DUI lawyer. I have not settled with his insurance even though they offered me the full 50K because I would be releasing the responsible party from resonsiblilty. Because of the amount of medical bills, I feel I have to sue him. I have been told that most lawyers do not want to ''personally'' sue someone, just the insurance company. Can you advise me on what to do as the bills are close to $200K and I am having to pay out of pocket for the difference from my health insurance. I want to sue him for any assets he may have before he claims bankruptcy. He was charged with DUI causing substantial bodily harm in California where the accident occurred but we both live in Nevada. Can you also confirm if I sue in Nevada? And how open are lawyers to individuals not insurance companies? Thank you for any assistance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search