Nevada  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/29/08, 12:45 am

Private property liablity

what is the law concerning private property being damaged in a hotel pool. the scenerio is person A is in the pool and has a towel by the edge. person B comes up and asks to put their towel by A's. A agrees and B gets in after a while B gets out and accidently knocks A's towel in. A has 2 $500 cellphones and a digital camera(the camera was ok). A threats to beat up B if they dont pay, B pays to avoid injury. A is kicked out of hotel after but B is still out $1000. to the best of my knowledge, A voided any liablity of the hotel by not using provided lockers, or leaving in room, thus it is no fault of B. in addition all pools have signs saying something to the affect of the hotel is not liable for damaged or stolen articles, does ''hotel'' not extend to patrons and employees, or is it just employee, etc. if the hotel knew about the money should they not have stopped it and could B sue hotel for the $1000. A was from sweden on vacation in las vegas. B was a canadian citizen on vacation in las vegas.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

102 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search