Nevada  |  Veterans Law

question bubble
6/27/09, 12:46 am

Legal Question


How long does it take to get a Hearing?

I finally got my decicision after waitng a year and of course it was denied for PTSD from MST. I asked a hearing, so now how long does that take before I am noifitied of whne and where that will take place. I have new evidence to submit. It's an assessment from two of the Dr's I saw while my claim was being decided. The assessment was never included. with the other evidence. This assessment says that my word of being assaulted can be taken as true due to my condition, even though I never reported the assault, even in other couseling and hospitailizations. It also says that it is more likely then not that MST is the cause of my depression and other issues. Is this going to help me or not?


question bubble
6/27/09, 12:16 pm

Legal Answer


Re: How long does it take to get a Hearing?

The answer is, it depends. And the answer also is: There's no telling. Not encouraging, I know. Did you ask for a DRO hearing, or is it already on appeal to the Board in DC? And if you ask for a travel board hearing it can sometimes take what seems like forever to get one. Videoconference hearings can usually take place sooner. And you also may not even need a hearing, in which case you could get a decision sooner, especially with the new evidence. An attorney would need to review your file and assess what they think would be the best strategy. Let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Jill Mitchell

Heard & Smith, LLP 3737 Broadway, Suite 310 San Antonio, TX 78209

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search