Nevada  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/13/02, 10:14 pm

Legal Question


aunt's trust

36 hours before my aunt M. passing she changed her

trust. There are liquid assets totalling

$28,000 which belonged to my aunt and about 3/4

million in oil royalities and a house which are hard

assets. The following note was written:

I M. being of sound mind and body bequeath the

following assests to: 1/2 to my sister 1/2 to my niece

And all previous wills and trusts are void. (The

understanding the this would be the liquid assets, not

all assets.) My family asked for a copy of the previous

wills and trusts and my father asked my cousin if he

was mentioned and my cousin stated he was never

once mentioned. When we finally recieved the old will

my cousin had lied because my father is mentioned on

every page of the old wills, up until 2001(which was the

last will until the hand written note). There was a

hearing NOV.1st where my cousin and aunt S (aunt M's

sister) petitioned the courts in Nevada for the 28,000 in

liquid assets. My father did not contest it. My question

is what happens to the hard assets (house/oir

royalities)? Can my aunt S sell my aunt M's home?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search