Nevada | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
i have a california living trust & have moved to nevada. is it still good?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Rick Williams |
At the risk of sounding "lawyerly," the answer is "probably." While the Trust is likely to be legally enforceable, you might be missing out on some advantages in the Nevada law, or you may need to adjust the level of assets left out of the Trust to avoid probate with Nevada's lower dollar threshold ($20k) before probate is mandated. It also depends on whether the bulk of your assets are located in California or Nevada. If you passed away leaving real property, for example, in California, and a dispute arose, your family would be required to open a probate in the county in Nevada where you live, and an ancillary probate in the California county where the property is. Other assets may have other requirements that might be avoided by being a Nevadan with a Nevada Living Trust.
I would suggest that you, at least, have a Nevada attorney - well experienced with Trusts in both states - review your documents to ensure they comport with Nevada law and will be fully enforceable here.
Welcome to the Silver State! |
Top Attorneys in NV
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2001
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Frederick D. (Rick) Williams, Chtd.
Sparks, NV
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Lynes & Associates
Auburn, CA
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-30
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Law Office of Grenville Pridham
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Search Questions and Answers


