Nevada | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Wills
If I fill a form on a Law Guru type site and do a will in NV USA for the Condo I own does this Will cause any problem for my Will in Ireland ?
the information I wish to put in the Will is the same as I have in the Will in Dublin Ireland
Obliged
Mick
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Paul Malikowski |
Re: Wills You may consider removing real estate from your will (to avoid probate) and executing a Revocable Transfer on Death Deed (TOD). This type of transfer is valid if you live in Missouri, Kansas, Ohio, Arizona, New Mexico, Nevada, Colorado, Arkansas or Wisconsin.
A Revocable Transfer on Death Deed (TOD) is a real estate deed that allows you to designate a beneficiary to whom your real estate will pass when you die. Generally speaking, a valid Revocable Transfer on Death Deed has the following elements and affects:
(1) The deed must state prominently that no interest in the real estate is conveyed until after the transferor's death. The deed does not need to be delivered to the beneficiary, but must be recorded prior to death to be effective as a transfer. The property passes outside of probate. The deed can be revoked at any time prior to death. The beneficiary has no present interest in the property as the property remains within the transferor's absolute possession, custody and control;
(2) The transferor's will does not effect the transfer on death unless the beneficiary dies prior to the transferor;
(3) The property is subject to the transferor's creditor's claims but not the beneficiary's creditor's claims;
(4) The property remains taxable to the decedent's estate; and
(5) The beneficiary simply records a death certificate to effectuate a transfer.
The Transfer on Death Deed is similar to an Enhanced Life Estate Deed (or Lady Bird Deed). In addition to the states mentioned above, California is also considering a statute that would recognize the Transfer on Death Deed.
Your attorney can advise further. |
Top Attorneys in NV
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2001
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Frederick D. (Rick) Williams, Chtd.
Sparks, NV
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Lynes & Associates
Auburn, CA
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-30
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
Law Office of Grenville Pridham
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Search Questions and Answers


