New Hampshire | Business Law
Legal Question
If a new ownership company comes in and takes over from an old owner do the non-competes carry with it to the new owner? Are they still valid?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Graves |
This depends upon the structure used for the acquisition. Ordinarily, in an asset purchase, the purchaser would elect to acquire this kind of asset; if a stock purchase, it happens as a matter of law. As a working assumption, the non-competition obligation likely survives, but both the agreement containing the non-competition obligation AND the acquisition agreement whereby the "new owner took over from the old owner" need to be analyzed to get the actual answer to your query.
Best wishes,
LDWG |
Top Attorneys in NH
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 1211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Coolidge & Graves PLLC
Keene, NH
Questions Answered: 792
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-27
Dorner Law Office
Londonderry, NH
Questions Answered: 522
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Law Offices of Jameson & Cooper
Wellesley, MA
Questions Answered: 373
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-27
Weddleton Law Office
Concord, NH
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
Milligan Coughlin LLC
Boston, MA
Questions Answered: 69
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Burnham & Associates, Attorneys at Law, PLLC
Raymond, NH
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Robert J. Hundertmark, Attorney At Law
Woburn, MA
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-12
Law Offices of Andrew D. Myers
Derry, NH
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-11
Law Offices of Thomas Morgan PC
Salem, NH
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-24
Search Questions and Answers


