Legal Question in Criminal Law in New Hampshire

The dogs boarding at a local kennel bark uncontrollably 3 times a day, 7 days a week and are driving me crazy. The relevant local ordinances, adapted from NH RSA's are:

4.04.030 Dogs a Nuisance, a Menace or Vicious:

2. Nuisance Offense - If it barks for sustained periods of more than 1/2 hour, or during the night hours so as to disturb the peace and quiet of a neighborhood or area.

-and-

9. Notwithstanding NH RSA 466:31-a, if a law enforcement officer does not witness the nuisance behavior, the name of the complainant may be released as public information before any fine under NH RSA 466:31-a shall be levied.

The penalties are: $25 first offense, $100 second offense and then they must appear in court thereafter.

Here is my question.

I have complained to the Police on several occasions. They have gone to the kennel to warn them of the consequences. The kennel claims that the dogs are only let out for less than one half hour and do not bark for more than 30 minutes.

The Police have told me they must witness the dogs barking for more than 30 minutes before they can issue a citation ... but ... they also say they will not go and sit there and watch them ... therefore, they cannot issue a citation.

I feel completely helpless. I am severely disabled. These dogs keep me from being able to sleep, or sit outside on my porch or even have friends over for a BBQ outside. The dogs go into an absolute barking frenzy, sometimes for several hours at a time.

Isn't there something I can do to get this to stop .. or force the police to do something about this? Do they in fact have to witness it or is my testimony enough to cause them to write a citation?

Thank you in advance. I am desperate for help.

Asked on 8/24/13, 8:45 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Dan Hynes N.H. DWI GUY
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Go to state police or try and get a restraining order or injunction

Read more
8/27/13, 12:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New Hampshire

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8817 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now