Legal Question in Criminal Law in New Hampshire

I was evicted from my apartment. I received the Writ of Possession and one day I came home to a sheriffs notice on my door that informed me that I had 7 days to remove my belongings and I was locked out of my apartment. Was it legal for the sheriff to go through my belongings? I was not present for this.

Asked on 10/09/13, 6:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Dan Hynes N.H. DWI GUY
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

A sheriff generally wouldn't enter as they just give notice of the eviction, but if you were properly evicted then the homeowner is entitled to possession and enter the property.

Read more
10/09/13, 6:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New Hampshire

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now