New Hampshire | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
My bank sent me a letter stating they are starting the foreclosure process. I have two loans from two different lenders. What are my rights? Can they sue me, and freeze my bank accounts?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bruce L. Dorner |
This is a complex area of the law. Which bank, first mortgage or second mortgage, sent you the notice? If you owe the money and have not paid or made arrangements for payment, they can foreclose. They can sue you for any deficiency. Generally, if you have your bank account at the same bank that holds your mortgage they often have a "cross collateral" agreement that allows them to freeze or apply the balance in that account to the delinquent mortgage.
You would be well advised to meet with an attorney to review the facts and circumstances in your personal situation. There are a few options available, but your first choice is often to contact the bank, explain your financial situation and see if anything can be worked out to avoid the foreclosure. |
Top Attorneys in NH
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 1211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Dorner Law Office
Londonderry, NH
Questions Answered: 522
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Law Offices of Jameson & Cooper
Wellesley, MA
Questions Answered: 373
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-27
Weddleton Law Office
Concord, NH
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
Qua, Hall, Harvey & Walsh
Chelmsford, MA
Questions Answered: 139
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Burnham & Associates, Attorneys at Law, PLLC
Raymond, NH
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Robert J. Hundertmark, Attorney At Law
Woburn, MA
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-12
Smith & Janian, LLC
North Andover, MA
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-05
Law Offices of Thomas Morgan PC
Salem, NH
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-24
ParksDoherty, PLLC
Durham, NH
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Search Questions and Answers


