Legal Question in Administrative Law in New Jersey

I paid a security deposit of $1835 but found out after a few days that I wouldnt be able to rent the apartment (my roommate found out she was pregnant). The mgmt of the apartment has a policy of having to cancel within 72 hours. We passed the mark by 9 days and had to pay a pentalty of ($599). This penalty policy was never documented in the contract letter I received but went with it because I just wanted the rest of my security check back. I find out today that an additional $236 was taken off of the security deposit and called to ask for an explanation. They said it is taken off because they counted the days ($5913) starting with the day the application was submitted and said she was sorry for giving me the wrong explanation. I would like to know if this is legal knowing that they never notified me of such change until i received the check and that there is no policy that indicates the penalty on any of the documents I received or on their management website. I know this is a small amount but it is so unfair for them to take my money without notifying me. There was no explanation and I just want to know if I can get my money back some how because it is so unfair.

Asked on 11/18/13, 12:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Davies The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

you may want to hire a lawyer to push them on this, try to get money back.

Read more
Answered on 11/18/13, 1:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Administrative Law questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Administrative Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now