New Jersey | Bankruptcy
12/01/07, 7:12 pm
Legal Question
Chapter 13 Bankruptcy
Can you file a ch. 13 petition pro se and then substitute in an attorney later.
Chapter 13 Bankruptcy
Can you file a ch. 13 petition pro se and then substitute in an attorney later.
|
Read More Answered By: Stephen Starr |
Re: Chapter 13 Bankruptcy I agree with Mr. Brown's answer.
Also, you should be aware that the overall cost of your representation may be more if you plan on filing the case pro se (yourself without attorney) and then later hiring an attorney. This is because the attorney you hire to come into your ch. 13 case you commenced pro se has to review every filing you have made with the Court and then amend whatever is deficient or requires correction. In my experience this is harder than handling a case from scratch.
Since many attorneys who handle chapter 13 cases may (and legally can) accept payment of at least part of their legal fees through the chapter 13 plan over time (particularly if there is a house involved), you would be better off hiring an attorney from the outset.
You should consult with an knowledgeable bankruptcy attorney in your area who is experienced in chapter 13 bankruptcy.
Please feel free to visit the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on our website at www.starrandstarr.com/faqs.htm for further information about chapter 13.
Good luck,
|
|
Read More Answered By: Glenn Brown |
Re: Chapter 13 Bankruptcy yes. However a major part of the value of an attorney is doing a proper filing to avoid errors down the road.
good luck to you.
Services at a reasonable fee. |
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
New York City, NY
Questions Answered: 848
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-09
Mount Laurel, NJ
Questions Answered: 132
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
► Condo building bankruptcy If a builder of a condo building goes bankrupt and the...
► Will I lose my money or home? My son has filed bankruptcy and he is a cosigner on my...
► Bankruptcy I owe money to a company that just filed chapter 11. Do I still need to...
► Bankruptcy - My residence is on my boat I am considering filing bankruptcy due to a...
► Bankruptcy Hi in2004 I filed chapter 13 I now would like to buy a home I am still in...
► Bankruptcy Does filing for bankruptcy eliminate a civil judgement attached to a...
► Real estate in bankuptcy I am listed as the primary on the mortgage papers for the...
More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in New Jersey| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press