New Jersey | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
will I lose my money or home?
My son has filed bankruptcy and he is a cosigner on my checking account. Will I lose my money and my home? I am 72.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Glenn Brown |
Re: will I lose my money or home? This is one of the many reasons I advise people not to put their children's name on their house or account.
Close the account. Open a new account without his name and put your money their.
If you need someone to do your banking have an attorney draft a power of attorney for that purpose.
If your sons name is not on your home it will not be involved in the bankruptcy.
Good luck to you. |
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
The Wooten Legal Consulting, PC
New York City, NY
Questions Answered: 848
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of Savy Grant
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Starr & Starr, PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-09
Law Offices of Jeffrey S. Walters, LLC
Mount Laurel, NJ
Questions Answered: 132
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Search Questions and Answers


