New Jersey | Business Law
Legal Question
breaking a contract based on deceptive practices
1. I took early retirement from a career in daily newspapers to entered a partnership to acquire a weekly newspaper. I now own 25 percent of the company. The paper aquired was low quality and nonprofessional.
2. Real estate ad revenue is key to its success. Although reader response has been exceptional, no real estate agencies will do business with the paper. Meanwhile, I have invested (literally) all I have in the paper (more than three times that of my partner so far).
3. I discovered after several months that my partner is a convicted felon (whoi had served 7 years). He was convicted on federal racketeering charges concerning real estate fraud, conspiracy to commit fraud, and bilking goernment of more than $1 million through falsified insurance applications for properties, etc. He was found guilty of at least 57 of 60 charges.
Question: I must leave the arrangement. I need to know if I can take the product I created (I designed an entirely new product and features) with me (via downloading formats, layout and design, etc. on discs.) Also, how to walk away without being liable for possible future problems associated with product.


