New Jersey  |  Business Law

question bubble
10/05/03, 12:39 pm

Legal Question


legal notification

I recently had to close my business due to losses from storm damage. My insurance was not sufficient to cover everything. I have rectified or gone into agreements with all my customers to reimburse except one.

In a letter from them, they have only given me 13 days to either come up with the merchandise or the funds. If I don't show up that day with either, they will have to pursue legal action. I cannot do either in that time frame. When I originally went to them I asked that I be given until February of 2004 and they would receive retribution in full in the amount of $4789.00. Come February I will be able to take a loan against my pension to pay them in full in the event I can't settle with my insurance company. I don't want to have to file for Bankruptcy.I'm asking if they are wrong in the amount of time they are giving me to make good. And is there some way to respond to that and point out that I don't want legal action taken, nor do I want to file for bankruptcy because of it.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search