New Jersey | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
What are my rights
I was punched in the face by my boss at work, I did not hit him back the big boss was there, he did not see the actual punch but was informed right after it happened, and failed to write up an incident form and the boss that hit me was still working until the remainder of the day. When I got off work, I went to the emergency room and got my face checked out because it was swollen, they took xrays and informed me that I should go to the police. I went to the police and explained what happened. I then went to my job and gave the big boss my paperwork from the doctor stating that I will be out of work for that day. While I was at the job, the same police that i had spoke to at the station came to the job to investigate my statement. the officer spoke with the witness in front of myself and the big boss while the witness stated that the other boss did punch him in the face and I didn't do anything. I went to work to day and the big boss told me that i have two choices, the first would be to settle this situation with him instead of having it go further through the courts or second if I go through with the courts that they would have to suspend me and then fire me and I have until the end of the day to make a decision, can they do that


