New Jersey | Technology Law
Legal Question
Internet posting of minors names
Is it legal for a website administrator to post the names and addresses of minors on his pesonal website? This person has done this and I want to know if it is a criminal act.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Avi Naveh |
Re: Internet posting of minors names If the website is publishing details of an individual under the age of 13, then the Children's Online Privacy Protection Act (COPPA) would be the proper basis for your complaint. You can file one with the FTC to have the information removed and seek civil penalties against the website.
Criminally? No, this isn't a criminal act. However, there may be liability if content of the website leads to a criminal act against a child. The following should contain some helpful information for you:
http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/business/idtheft/bus45.shtm
|
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3591
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Ronald J. Cappuccio, J.D., LL.M.(Tax)
Cherry Hill, NJ
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-29
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Pepper Law Group, LLC
Somerville, NJ
Questions Answered: 267
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-09
Law Practice of Roman Fichman Esq.
Manhattan, NY
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Glen H. Chulsky
Ledgewood, NJ
Questions Answered: 131
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-22
Search Questions and Answers


