New Jersey  |  Constitutional Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/01/10, 6:52 pm

My civilly divorced ex-wife has filed a motion in New Jersey Superior Court asking the judge to issue an order that I must provide her a "Get", a Jewish religious divorce. No rabbinic court has ordered me to provide a Get, and I consider

this an attack on my first amendment right of free exercise of religion.

Can I file a complaint in a Federal District Court asking for a stay of the NJ judge's order, or a preliminary injunction,

based on violation of my first amendment rights?

Would a Federal District Court normally hear such a matter if it has not been heard by the NJ Supreme Court?

How might time might be required to be granted a stay in Federal Court, if the NJ judge were to issue an order giving me a few weeks to give the Get?

1 Answer


Answered on: 8/08/10, 9:12 am by Robert Davies

this legal issue has been fought over in court before. Call me, you need a lawyer to fight this for you.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Davies Law Firm, P.A. 45 Essex Street, Suite 3 West Hackensack, NJ 07601

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

141 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search