New Jersey | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
TV Game Shows Covered by Age Discrimination Laws?
I recently took a qualifying written test to appear on a game show in NYC. I passed the test and therefore qualified for Step 2, that is, a personal interview, after which those for the contestant pool would be selected. All of the interviewers were in their early 20s. The contestants who have appeared on the show are disproportionately young. We interviewees were told that being selected for the contestant pool wouldn't guarantee that we'd be called to appear as contestants, but that everyone interviewed would receive a postcard saying whether we were selected for the pool or not. My postcard told me that I was not selected. But everyone I know in my age range who passed the initial test has also been turned down. Since I am relaxed, hip, not bad looking, and with a great sense of humor, I am convinced - based on the same fate as others of my age and the very few actual contestants of similar age - that there is ageism involved. Is there any legal recourse? If so, what bureaucratic venue would handle it?


