New Jersey | Construction Law
fence replacement
Hi I live in Glendora NJ.Camden County,my question is ,i have lived in the same house for thirty seven years that has had a four foot fence around it that had become deteriorated to the point of falling apart.I went to the local fence co and told them to Replace the old one.which they did two years ago with a vinal fence at a cost of more than $6000 dollars,A beautiful fence i might add,now the local code enforcer has told me that im in violation of local ordinance and would need a permit and a variance because now you can only put up a thirty six in. fence in the front yard and you need a variance for anything bigger.the code officer told me that the replacement fence does not grandfather the additional cost to me is another one hundred and twenty five dollars for permits and a variance. my question is this legal. thank you Tom Kearney


