Legal Question in Consumer Law in New Jersey

I dropped my car off at a repair shop to get coil packs and spark plugs installed. Few hours later the mechanic called me and said that my car was done and ready for pick up. When I arrived at the shop I paid the mechanic in cash and he handed me the keys to my car. I went to my car, sat down in the driver seat, started it and when i tried to put the car in first gear the shifter wouldn't move. I shut the car off and repeated the process to get the same results. My car was shifting fine when I dropped it off to him so I knew right away something wasn't right. I got out my car and asked the mechanic what happened to my car? He said he was unaware that it had this problem because he never drove my car. He explained that he pushed my car into the shop, installed the coil packs and spark plugs, then pushed it out and called me. This repair shop builds modified street racing imports and these guys are heavily into street racing. My car is a V6 twin turbo charged Audi with signficant improvements so I'm 100% positive that he took my car out for a test drive and destroyed my transmission. There's no paper work, receipt or evidence saying that I was at this shop other than my father and girlfriend as witnesses. The cost to rebuild my transmission is $3000 is there any legal way I can get this mechanic to pay for these repairs he caused to my car?

Asked on 3/20/13, 6:23 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Davies The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You will have to sue him.

Call me and let me see what I can do for you. I am in Hackensack.

Robert Davies, Esq.

201 820 3460

Read more
3/20/13, 7:01 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88127 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now