New Jersey  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/07/01, 11:44 am

Legal Question


Car repossession-put lein on house?

My car was repossessed because I fell 40 days behind on the payments. I told the finance company that they could keep the car. I now have received a phone call stating that I still owe over 7000 dollars on the car. Apparently they sold it and want to get the interest that they could have gotten if I had gone the full term of the loan. The total amount I paid was 3000 dollars over the sticker price so the monies left to pay would only be interest.

They say if I don't pay that they will put a lein on my house. Can they do that without going to court, and I'm I responsible for the remaining interest? At the time of the repossession I owed 6900 dollars to payoff the debt. They sold the car for over 3000 dollars. So do I have to pay them the 7000+ dollars they are asking?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search