New Jersey  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
9/11/08, 4:39 pm

Legal Question


Collections Agency

My wife recently rec'd a letter in the mail from a collections agency that mentioned we owed $190.00 to a daycare. We had taken our son to this daycare for 5 months. 2 1/2 months into this, I went to the daycare and voiced several concerns I had. At the 5 month mark, and none of the concerns being resolved, and even more concerns at this point, we went to the daycare and let them know we were not happy and would be pulling our child out. They told us good, we--name removed--t want you here and your concerns, and--name removed--t forget when you first brought him here, you signed a contract that provides us with 2 weeks notice, so either continue to bring him for the next 2 weeks or remove him and pay us our 2 weeks. Obviously we weren't going to bring him for fear of what they would do to him, while at the same time, why would we want to pay these folks after how they handled our son and our concerns? My wife is concerned that if we--name removed--t pay, they'll mark up our credit report, but at the same time, we--name removed--t want to pay because of how bad their service was and how we were handled. What can we do (outside of paying them)? Please help!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search