New Jersey | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
JBC Legal Group
I was contacted by phone a few days ago by JBC Legal Group stating that I had a returned check to a major chain drugstore from 4-14-2000. We told the man that we would be glad to pay it if he could mail us a bill or statement. He became very rude and yelled at us and said it didn't matter that it was in litigation. I called the company back today and got another rude woman who said I had to Western Union immediately. I asked her nicely to send a bill or copy of the check and she refused saying it was beyond that point and I needed to send money immediately. I explained that I was skeptical and felt I might be scammed and she yelled at me and still refused to send or fax anything. I asked for their address and she hung up on me. My husband called right back and explained to the next person on the phone the same thing and they were rude and refused to cooperate. Is this legal? I am willing to take care of my debts and certainly don't want a day in court or jail, but why would they refuse to provide me with proof of debt. They don't even say the little ''attempt to collect a debt speech'' that other collection agencies always use. I don't know what to do! Please advise ASAP. Thank You.


