New Jersey  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
8/07/02, 3:14 pm

Legal Question


Judgement

In 1997 to 1998 I worked for a private contractor. This person opened an account at a paint store without my knowledge using my name and information. In 1998, I received a letter from an attorney stating that there was a judgement against me for an amount that was not paid on the account that was opened. I contacted the lawyer and I was told that the contractor was given a monthly amount to pay of the debt and that the matter was being settled. Since then I have not heard or received any further notices regarding this matter. Now I have found out that the judgment is still on my record and is possibly still outstanding. I am having a difficult time receiving any help from anyone, including the company and the lawyer who stated she has nothing more to do with this matter. I am anxious to settle this matter since it has ruined my credit, I hope someone is able to offer advice. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search