New Jersey | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Can a motion to enter judgment be considered even when no ruling was made against the defendant?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John Corbett |
Motions can always be considered. A motion to enter judgment will be granted against a party in default or a party whose pleading has been stricken for failure to provide answers to discovery. A motion for summary judgment is in order even in the absence of a prior ruling. A motion for confession of judgment may also be appropriate under the rules of court if a contract so provides and the notice required by the NJ rules is given. A motion for judgment will also be granted as a matter of routine if the application is to docket a judgment entered in another State. Those are the most common situations where a motion for judgment is proper in the absence of a prior finding against a party by the court hearing the motion. Motions that are unopposed are routinely granted if the moving papers meet the requirements of the statutes and rules of court.
See also: http://info.corbettlaw.net/lawguru.htm
|
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Berkowitz & Raiken
Montville, NJ
Questions Answered: 406
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-23
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Starr & Starr, PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


