New Jersey  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/12/99, 10:11 pm

Legal Question


time limit for debt collection

I received a call from a collections agency attempting to collect a debt from nine years ago. The original debt was from a credit card billing that was disputed by me nine years ago. I have received no response to my objection and no correspondence concerning this debt during the past nine years. There is no judgement on the and it debt does not appear on my credit report (yet!). My main concerns are that the amount they are attempting to collect is much higher than the original disputed amount and that I have no records of transactions going back nine years. I have requested in writing that I be sent a written breakdown of what they say I owe and why. Is there a time limit for this type of debt collection? What are my rights? Should I consult an attorney? The amount they are attempting to collect is around $2500; the original debt was $800.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search