New Jersey  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/17/09, 11:29 am

Legal Question


Around this same time last year (Oct 28, 2009) I received a phone call from a person identifying himself as "Scott Silver". He would not say who he was or where he was from, only that I owed $6,700 for a Chase credit card debt. They also contacted my mother (in a different state) and my boyfriend (in same state).

I requested that he send me this information and proof of debt in writing. Initially he refused to until I brought up the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act & told him that he was in violation because he spoke to my mother regarding this issue.

He was extremely pushy, but then I received a letter from a company called PayStar/Rebuildyourcredit.org a few days later regarding this so-called debt. They also contacted my mother and boyfriend with separate letters.

I sent them a letter on 11/7/08 stating that I wanted proof in writing of this debt and that they should cease any further contact until they sent proof of the debt being owed. I told them they had 30 days to contact me or I would consider this null and void (sent cert/return receipt mail). I received the return receipt, but never heard from them again.

On November 10, 2009 I received a letter from a debt collection attorney stating that I owed $4,900 and they are listing the same alleged Chase credit card.

The letter states that I must answer withing 30 days or they will authorize legal action.

Why am I now hearing about this again, one year later? What legal steps can I take to resolve this so I do not receive a letter every year regarding this alleged debt?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search