New Jersey | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Voluntary Reposession
I would like to know what happens if I were to voluntary reposess my car? And do you know where I can get information on auto voluntary reposession?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Eric Kochel |
Re: Voluntary Reposession If you voluntarily surrender your car, you simply contact the lender and tell them that is what you want to do. If it is a lease take it back to the dealer where you got it. You should keep in mind that with any repossession, voluntary or otherwise you usually still owe money to the lender. If, for example, you owe more than the current market value of the car you will remain responsible for the difference between the amount you owe and the liquidation value. Sometimes this is substatntial and the lender can sue you for this or garnish your wages to recover it. Unless it's a lease or you also plan on filing bankruptcy on all your debts which often is a good option -a voluntary possession is usually not any better then just not paying and letting the lender repossess it themselves - that is if you truly cannot afford the payments and have a legitimate reason as to why you can't. |
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Davies Law Firm, P.A.
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Corbett Law Firm LLC
Evesham, NJ
Questions Answered: 2017
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Michael A. Berman
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Real World Law, P.C.
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Berkowitz & Raiken
Montville, NJ
Questions Answered: 406
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-23
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Starr & Starr, PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 178
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-09
Search Questions and Answers


