New Jersey  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
3/24/10, 12:55 pm

Legal Question


About 40 years ago my father in law was arrested for possessing stolen furs given to him by a friend who stole them and neglected to tell my father in law they were stolen. Anyway the guy that stole them was arrested and he told the police where they were. The police came to his house to recover the furs and it frightened them so bad that my father in law told the police he was guilty so they wouldn't harass his wife and kids. He was arrested and charged with having stolen property in his possession. A felony charge was placed on his record and is still there today. All of these years he never had any trouble with it and it was forgotten. He has been an avid hunter all these years. He has purchased many guns both rifles and handguns over the years. He has never had any trouble in doing so. recently a place my mother in law works at was robbed and cash was stolen. Because he spends time there waiting for my mother in law to get done work he was investigated and this felony was found. because of it he had to get rid of all his guns and give up hunting the one thing he has done and loved for so many years. He is now 75 years old and it's a shame he has to give it up because of he actually didn't do anything other than to help a friend. He may be guilty of being gullible and trusting. In his eyes people are just nice and trustworthy until he finds different.

I would like to know if the charge can be remove or a lesser charge put against him so as not to stop him from doing the one thing he enjoys so much which is hunting. I hear that I may be able to ask for the felony to expunged but I have no idea as how to do this.

Please help me do this one thing for him so his last years are not just lost to a foolish mistake made many years ago.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search