New Jersey  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/28/09, 1:51 pm

Legal Question


I was charged with shoplifting under $20 but was plead down to a municipal ordinance(disturbing the peace). When i did a background check on myself I saw that it was a felony that was reduced to a misdemeanor? Is a municipal ordinance violation a misdemeanor?


question bubble
11/02/09, 2:01 pm

Legal Answer


No.

A municipal ordinance violation (IF you are SURE that is what you were convicted of) is not a crime. It is not a misdemeanor. It is not a felony. It is not a crime at all.

Disclaimer: This answer is based only on the statements you have made, and may not be accurate. Your question and any response does NOT create an attorney-client relationship between you and this law firm. You can not rely on the statements made by an attorney given over the internet. The exact facts of your situation, including facts which you have not mentioned in your question, may completely change the result for your situation.

Robert Davies

The Davies Law Firm, P.A. 45 Essex Street, Suite 3 West Hackensack, NJ 07601

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/02/09, 4:13 pm

Legal Answer


A municipal ordinance is not a misdemeanor.

John Ducey

Law Offices of John G. Ducey, PC 200 Main Street, Second Floor Toms River, NJ 08753

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/02/09, 5:01 pm

Legal Answer


You can expunge the entire record two years after the fine is paid because you pled guilty to a

municipal ordinance.

Call me if you like.d

Gary Moore

Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search