New Jersey  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 10:52 am

Legal Question


had a court date in 2007 and I sent in the obituary for the funeral i had to attend and i was told that I would be excused. 2 weeks later i found out that i had a warrant for missing court. I am going in the morning to pay the $1000 bail for the warrant then i will get a court date for the original charge of theft . I had a public defender back in 07 and i was told if i paid the $652 it would all be ok... will that still happen or because i missed court and didnt pay the $652 back then now im in bigger trouble?

Additional Details

FYI I have no criminal record and I have never been in trouble before and for the theft charge I went to the first two court dates before the missed one... will that at least be looked at? that im not an ongoing problem? my charge was reviewed by the superior court and my case will stay in municipal court


question bubble
11/21/09, 10:59 pm

Legal Answer


Depends on the court but you may have to answer for your failure to appear. The judge may hold you in contempt as a result. You may want to speak to an attorney before doing anything. Call me at 732/247/3340 to discuss.

Jef Henninger, Esq

Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq. 8 Offices in New Jersey Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ 08901

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 10:59 pm

Legal Answer


You seem to understand that what happens in court is not entirely predictable. I would expect that you may still be able to get a dismissal by paying the money back, but this is not guaranteed. You should take a lawyer to court with you.

Call me if you like.

Gary Moore

Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/23/09, 9:54 am

Legal Answer


If you are employed and can afford a private attorney then you should hire one. If you can't afford a private attorney, then you need to re-apply for the public defender. This is a serious charge and should not be handled without a lawyer representing you. Please contact me to discuss your case in more detail. I never charge for just talking to a person about their case. Thank you.

Sincerely yours, -Ronald Aronds, Esq.-

www.njworkerscompensationlaw.com

Ronald Aronds

Law Office of Ronald Aronds, LLC 117A North Union Avenue Cranford, NJ 07016

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search