New Jersey  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/14/09, 2:00 pm

Legal Question


SEARCH WARRANT.

If a search warrant states and being satisied therefrom that located therein or thereon is evidence of violations of the New Jersey Statues,to with:

N.J.S. 2C:11-3

Will and life insurance of XXXXXXXXXX and other documents naming beneficiaries.

and the probable cause exists for the issuance of such warrant(s).

Does that mean that nothing else other than them documents stated above can be seized??

the warrant took 4 months to return and it came as discovery after the indictment was heard. We didn't recieve the discovery package till 1 year after the indictment was heard in court.They used a so call threating letter in the indictment as evidence which was also seized with this warrant.


question bubble
11/19/09, 2:26 pm

Legal Answer


You say the indictment was heard. What does that mean? Do you mean that an indictment was

returned by a grand jury AND there was a trial before twelve jurors?

Call me if you like.

Gary Moore

Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 3:09 pm

Legal Answer


You clearly have an attorney. Why not ask him or her?

Jef Henninger, Esq

Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq. 8 Offices in New Jersey Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ 08901

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 5:51 pm

Legal Answer


A search warrant usually limits what can be seized during a search. However, if there is contraband seen in plain view during the search or found in areas where the items listed in the search warrant were reasonably expected to be found, then those items can be seized as well.

Sincerely yours, -Ronald Aronds, Esq.-

www.njworkerscompensationlaw.com

Ronald Aronds

Law Office of Ronald Aronds, LLC 117A North Union Avenue Cranford, NJ 07016

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search