New Jersey  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
3/31/02, 4:07 pm

Legal Question


Right to a Speedy Trial

I would like to know if there is a limitation of the length of time before a trial date must be set.

Over one year ago an arrest was made for soliciting prostitution and to date niether I nor my attorney has been contacted by the Bergen county prosecutor. Is there any regulation or statute that forces a prosecuter to contact a defendents attorney or set a trial date within a given time frame.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search