my brother was pulled over and charged with a number of traffic violations. the fines were downgraded to a ''2c.35-10c'' which i think was for a small bag of cocaine (a $20 bag) he has a court date in cherry hill, nj what is the worst that could happen? this is his first offence
6 Answers from Attorneys
Please call our office to schedule an in-office consultation. Visit www.benotguilty.com for articles that may provide incite to your specific situation.
There is a drug offense involved under the NJ Code of Criminal Justice. There are special programs for first offenders and charges may later be expunged but the help of a lawyer is highly recommended to avoid harsh unexpected consequences in the future.
Contact me via email for a call back.
The maximum jail sentence is six months. The maximum fine is $1,000, plus a drug surcharge of $500 and the possible loss of his driving privileges.
If he is a first offender, he can avoid most of these penalties by applying for first offender treatment.
Call me if you like.
Gary Moore, Esquire
Hackensack, New Jersey
This is a Disorderly Persons Offense, so the worst that could happen would be that he could do up to six months in the county jail. Each case is unique, so I can't say for sure what kind of sentence he may be facing. He may even have an actual defense to the case, and if he does then there may be a possibility of actually winning the case. I am an attorney who has handled many cases similar to yours in various courts throughout New Jersey in the past. Please contact me to discuss your case in more detail. I never charge for simply talking to a person about their case. Thank you.
Sincerely yours, -Ronald Aronds, Esq.-
He needs a lawyer...or he can pay the public defender's fee.
This is serious because he may lose his driver's license if he chooses the wrong way to go. A good lawyer will be able to give him options, some better than others. If he has questions, have him call me or write back to firstname.lastname@example.org
I practice in Cherry Hill and would be more than happy to help him. Call me at 732/247/3340 to discuss.
Related Questions & Answers
Traffic stop Do the police in NJ need probable cause to make a motor vehicle stop?... Asked 4/03/09, 6:31 pm in United States New Jersey Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Nj dwi Can you make a plea deal in New Jersey for first offense DWI? Asked 4/01/09, 6:00 pm in United States New Jersey Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Husband in dui accident car in my name insurance to he got 1st dui involved in... Asked 3/30/09, 10:10 am in United States New Jersey Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Illegal N.J.DUI Stop I had a third DUI stop 11 years ago in N.J. but failed to... Asked 3/08/09, 11:07 pm in United States New Jersey Drunk Driving & DUI Law
How to answer question on application If you have a Boating under the influence... Asked 3/04/09, 4:57 pm in United States New Jersey Drunk Driving & DUI Law