New Jersey  |  DUI Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/04/12, 12:26 am

21 years ago i got a dui, i just recently got onther one is this concidered a first offence

4 Answers


Answered on: 2/04/12, 5:00 am by Gary Moore

It is. Call me, if you like.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/04/12, 12:05 pm by Greggory Marootian

Yes, because the gap between your 1st and 2nd offense is greater than ten years, this would be treated as a first offense under the NJ DWI Statute (assuming you are convicted). The Court must sentence you within the sentencing parameters of a 1st-offender, although the Court can consider the prior conviction in imposing the sentence.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Greggory M. Marootian, Esq. 30 West Mount Pleasant Ave. - #203 Livingston, NJ 07039

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/04/12, 7:26 pm by Ronald Aronds

Since the time is in excess of ten years between the two you would be sentenced as a first offender IF you were found guilty. I always look for ways to win a case before I assume that my client should just please guilty. Please contact my office for a free consultation to discuss your case. Thank you.

Sincerely yours, -Ronald Aronds, Esq.-


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Ronald Aronds, LLC 117A North Union Avenue Cranford, NJ 07016

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/06/12, 8:14 am by Larry Raiken

Yes this would be a first offense. Please call my office to discuss this matter.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Larry S Raiken LLC 170 Changebridge Road Montville, NJ 07045

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search