New Jersey  |  DUI Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/07/04, 2:55 pm

Can I take my attorney to ethical court?

Regarding a pending DUI case in Newark Court. My lawyer did not show for the first hearing, he was at another hearing but had me show up at court to tell the judge he wasnt coming. Judge rescheduled two days later. Lawyer says he'll meet me at court a half hour prior to court starting, as he never had time to discuss my case prior. He shows up 1.5 hours late when Im already on the stand telling the judge my lawyer is late. He comes rushing in, not talking to me about the case first and says he needs more time to look at the discovery and to postpone again. I wanted to settle right there -- I am losing A LOT of money missing work, as I am self-employed. He tells me no. We reschedule again. He calls me that morning from Florida where he is stuck from the hurricaine and told me to tell the judge to reschedule again. I tell the judge the whole story and out of sympathy she tells me if he doesnt show (for the fourth court date) that she will mandate he return my retainer, etc. Is that possible? She rescheduled the hearing for the fourth time and my attorney already told me he'll be in Federal Court and wont make it. Any advice on what to do? Im extremely frustrated. Thank you.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

183 Answers given in the last few hours.

7524 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search