New Jersey  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 5:49 pm

Legal Question


An 18 year old family friend wants me to be his guardian. His parents are currently separated and will ultimately end up in divorce. His mother is in denial being an alcoholic; verbally appointed the godmother of his brother to be their guardian in case something happens to her (the mother). The father is pretty much out of the picture, has a business out of the country.

Is this possible? If yes, what is the process?


question bubble
11/18/09, 6:12 pm

Legal Answer


This a curious situation because your friend is legally an adult. I do not see how you could be his guardian, since he is probably not otherwise incompetent.

Gary Moore

Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 3:20 pm

Legal Answer


Horrible situation. Mr. Moore is right, an 18yr old does not have a guardian.

Call me. seems like this young man needs some assistance.

Robert Davies

The Davies Law Firm, P.A. 45 Essex Street, Suite 3 West Hackensack, NJ 07601

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search