New Jersey  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/11/09, 1:41 pm

Legal Question


I became disabled with MS and began receiving SSDI. My daughter receives a SSDI benefit on my behalf. When her father found out, he filed a motion to decrease his child support obligation. This decrease has forced me to list my home of 10 years for sale, With a small SSDI benefit and half the child support than what i was previously receiving, the only area I can afford is approximately 35 miles away which would require a change of schools. My ex will definitely try to stop me from moving. His visitation is from Monday 4pm to Wednesday 8pm weekly. He works weekends. I know he will file court papers to stop me as he lives to go to court and loves to make as many problems for me as possible. I have a civil court order that states he is to have no contact with me as a result of all the stalking and harrassment he has done to me and my family. My question is : Can he stop a move of this distance?. I am terrified, I cannot afford an attorney, I must sell my home or I will lose it. I cannot even afford rent in the area we live now. The area I want to go is very reasonable and would enable my daughter and I to have a much easier time financially. Right now I live less than a mile from my ex. We have joint custody I am primary res. custodian. Thank you for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search