Legal Question in Family Law in New Jersey

DYFS Grandparent Adoption

My grandson is 2 1/2yrs old, DYFS has made recommendation to court for termination of parental rights. I would like to adopt my grandson. My husband, my grandson's step-grandfather, is willing to support my decision, will help me with the baby, but doesn't want to adopt. He states he is 59 yrs old, just doesn't want to adopt. In your opinion, to you think DYFS will allow me to adopt, knowing my husband doesn't feel the same way? He loves that baby, for some reason, thinks 59yrs old is ancient! I am 53 but it's not about me, it's about that baby who should be raised by family.

Asked on 3/08/07, 9:32 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: DYFS Grandparent Adoption

Yeah, DYFS would rather have the child go with a family member instead of having to place the child with some stranger.

Read more
Answered on 3/08/07, 10:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New Jersey

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

89033 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now