New Jersey  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/14/09, 12:46 am

Legal Question


I am a single mother of a 9 year old boy. I took legal sole custody of my son when he was two years old. My son's father lives a very rough life; IV drug user, repeat convicted violent felon, collects disabilty because he is mental unstable with violent tendencies and owes over $25,000 in child support.

He has comes on an average of 2 times a year always under the influence and starting trouble. This was causing my son a lot of mental anguish which was documented by his school and a child study team.

My ex has not been welcome in my home for over year now. And my son has done beautifully since his absence.

The problem is his father is now trying to gain joint custody. He wants him every other weekend. Is there any chance that a judge will award him joint custody with his history?


question bubble
11/19/09, 5:42 am

Legal Answer


I would think not. All of your complaints about him seem to be easily verified for the Court's purposes

Call me if you like.

Gary Moore

Gary Moore Attorney At Law 31 Mercer Street P.O. Box 1280 Hackensack, NJ 07602-1280

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/19/09, 3:11 pm

Legal Answer


I agree with Mr. Moore, if you show these things to the Judge, he should be denied joint custody.

What a shame. Keep your son safe.

Call me if you like, and I will see what I can do to assist.

Robert Davies

The Davies Law Firm, P.A. 45 Essex Street, Suite 3 West Hackensack, NJ 07601

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search