New Jersey  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
9/30/09, 11:05 am

Legal Question


Would a female employee of a company in NJ be qualifed for NJ Family leave if she is not legally married to her male partner (with whom she has two children and has co-habitated with for many years)?


question bubble
10/05/09, 11:13 am

Legal Answer


The New Jersey Family Leave Act does not require the parents of the child to be married. As long as the mother is qualified for leave under the Act, she can take the leave. For that matter, so can the father if he qualifies.

Randall Brett

Law Office of Randall P. Brett
214 Carnegie Center, Suite 100
Princeton, NJ 08540

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search