New Jersey | Medical Leave
Legal Question
I work in Pa but live in NJ which state do I file for family leave act
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Randall Brett |
The Family and Medical Leave Act is a federal law, not a state law. Your rights remain the same regardless of the state in which you work. You request FMLA leave from your employer, who is obligated to give you the (unpaid) leave for certain defined reasons if you meet the threshod number of hours worked in the previous 12 months. However, if you are refering to New Jersey's Family Leave Insurance law, which went into effect last month, your coverage is determined by your place of employment. If your employer pays into the New Jersey Unemployment Compensation Fund, you are likely eligible for the insurance plan. You can find out more information by going to the NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development home page and following the link to the pages that describe the program. Pennsylvania may have a similar insurance program and your employer can give you information about it. |
Top Attorneys in NJ
Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Locksley O. Wade
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1703
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-27
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Wooten Legal Consulting, PC
New York City, NY
Questions Answered: 848
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Office of Randall P. Brett
Princeton, NJ
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-31
Morgan & Morgan, P.A.
Davie, FL
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-04
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Barry, Corrado, Grassi & Gibson, PC
Wildwood, NJ
Questions Answered: 93
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-05
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 45
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Drew Quinones, P.C.
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Search Questions and Answers


