New Jersey | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
Collecting a Money Judgement
I was awarded a money judgement and requested the defendant to send me the awarded amount. I received a letter from the defendant's attorney which stated that before payment can be made to me he must receive a warrant of satisfaction of Judgement and an executed release by me for the defendant. He requests that these papers be sent to him and be held by him in escrow until I receive the defendant's check. I do not feel comfortable in sending a satisfaction of judgement or release to be held by the defendant's attorney without first receiving the check and waiting until it has been cashed. Is this valid procedure?


